School news

49 SBISD students honored as 2022 Character Without Question Award winners

Spring Branch ISD’s annual Character Without Question Award honors students who exhibit a variety of positive character traits and who represent the best of the best from every SBISD school.

With hundreds of family members in attendance, the 49 award winners were honored at the 19th annual Character Without Question Award ceremony on Feb. 28. during a board of Trustees regular meeting. 

This year’s winners were selected for demonstrating an enduring commitment to one or more of the SBISD Core Characteristics of a T-2-4 Ready Graduate:

  • Academically Prepared
  • Ethical & Service-minded
  • Empathetic & Self-aware
  • Persistent & Adaptable
  • Resourceful Problem-solver
  • Communicator & Collaborator

Students were nominated by a teacher, counselor, school administrator or another student. A panel of campus staff members interviewed nominees, asking questions ranging from how they describe their character, to how they would handle situations that require strong ethics, good decision-making and a respectful approach.

“These outstanding students exemplify the foundational beliefs upon which these awards were established 19 years ago,” SBISD Associate Superintendent for Communications and Community Engagement Linda Buchman said in introductory remarks. “That people can, and do, care for each other, and that trustworthiness, respect and honesty are accepted values.” 

As a part of this year’s honors, all student award winners received a copy of “Oh, the Places You’ll Go!” by Dr. Seuss, as well as a framed recognition item.

The awards presentation program and pre-event reception are made possible thanks to the generous support of two longtime SBISD Good Neighbors, the Spring Branch Education Foundation and Wells Fargo

View full gallery of award winners and ceremony. 


2022 Character Without Question Award Winners


Schools for Early Learning (pre-K)

The Bear Blvd. - Ariel Mae Munguia, pre-K 4

The Lion Lane - Victoria Castillo, pre-K 4

The Panda Path - Nikolas Carrillo, pre-K 3

The Tiger Trail - Jorge Fabian, pre-K 3

The Wildcat Way - Santiago Palacios, pre-K 4            


Elementary Schools

Buffalo Creek Elementary - Marian Diaz, fifth grade

Bunker Hill Elementary - Grace Rother, fifth grade

Cedar Brook Elementary - Dany Flores, fifth grade

Edgewood Elementary - Briana Heredia, fifth grade

Frostwood Elementary - Sam Ho, fifth grade

Hollibrook Elementary - Crystal Pecina, fifth grade

Housman Elementary - Joshua Aguilar, fifth grade

Hunters Creek Elementary - Heath Zehl, fifth grade

Meadow Wood Elementary - Gage Donnell, fifth grade

Memorial Drive Elementary - Amy Martin, fifth grade

Nottingham Elementary - Esther Robinson, fifth grade

Pine Shadows Elementary - Diego Allende Quintana, fifth grade

Ridgecrest Elementary - Angelina Garcia, fifth grade

Rummel Creek Elementary - Parker Sloan, fifth grade

Shadow Oaks Elementary - Mariana Ramirez, fifth grade

Sherwood Elementary - Lynette Zelaya, fifth grade

Spring Branch Academic Institute - Charley Lamb, fifth grade

Spring Branch Elementary - Franklin Mendez, fifth grade

Spring Shadows Elementary - Charlie Sam, fourth grade.

Terrace Elementary - Atianna Coreas-Luna, fifth grade

Thornwood Elementary - Elizabeth McAfee, fifth grade

Treasure Forest Elementary - Elias Diaz, fifth grade

Valley Oaks Elementary - Ella Spinn, fifth grade

Westwood Elementary - Joscelyn Soto, fifth grade

Wilchester Elementary - Henry Peine, fifth grade 

Woodview Elementary - Jaila Stewart, fifth grade


Middle Schools

Cornerstone Academy - Emery Willburn, eighth grade

Landrum Middle School - Debbie Garcia Gomez Gilbert, eighth grade

Memorial Middle - Katherine Hayes, eighth grade

Northbrook Middle - Heysel Perdomo Lopez, seventh grade

Spring Branch Academic Institute - Bryan Ung, eighth grade

Spring Branch Middle - Nathan Sartelle, eighth grade 

Spring Forest Middle - Dequarius Tyler, eighth grade

Spring Oaks Middle - Karina Montoya, eighth grade

Spring Woods Middle - Madison McGregory, seventh grade

Westchester Academy - Chase Green, eighth grade


High Schools

Academy of Choice - Ruby Chapa, 12th grade

Guthrie Center - Oscar Morales, 12th grade

Memorial High - Emma Linscomb, 11th grade

Northbrook High - Reynaldo Hernandez, 12th grade

Spring Branch Academic Institute - Collin Sanderson, 12th grade

Spring Woods High - Olivia Koepke, 11th grade

Stratford High - Jaquelyn Galvan, 11th grade 

Westchester Academy - Jasmin Quintanilla, 12th grade